Webinar: Methodologies for Baselines and Monitoring in the Transport Sector

Friday, 11 October, 2019, 10:30–11.30 am (UTC+2)

We are pleased to invite you to participate in the final episode of our joint webinar of the UNFCCC Secretariat and GIZ on Methodologies for GHG Baselines and Monitoring in the Transport Sector. The series comprises eight webinars and is based on the chapters of the UNFCCC Secretariat’s Passenger and Freight Transport Volume of the Compendium on GHG Baselines and Monitoring (2nd updated edition).

Join us for episode 8 of the series on 11 October, 2019, 10:30–11.30 am (UTC+2) German time on MASS TRANSIT INVESTMENTS.

This mitigation action covers project-level investments that create or extend specific mass transit passenger transport infrastructure in a region. This includes bus rapid transit (BRT), tram, metro, cable cars, etc. Marlan Pillay (UNFCCC) will moderate the webinar and open the session, thereafter Eduardo Cardoso Filho and Vikrant Badve of UNFCCC secretariat will highlight existing CDM methodologies together with examples of real-world application. A question and answer session will follow after presentations.

Anything you have always wanted to know regarding MRV of MASS TRANSIT INVESTMENTS? Ask us during the Q&A!

Please register here WebEx 11 Oct

The webinar will be recorded and made available to all registered participants after the webinar – also if you are not able to attend!

You can find the recordings of the previous webinars of the series here!

The webinar addresses primarily government agencies, consultants, academia, think tanks and international cooperation organisations interested in MRV of mode shift measures in the passenger transport and freight sector.

Webinar times – 11 October 2019

LocationLocal TimeUTC Offset
Berlin (Germany )10:30 – 11:30UTC+2 hours
Nairobi (Kenya)11:30 – 12:30UTC+3 hours
Bangkok (Thailand)15:30 – 16:30UTC+7 hours
Seoul (Korea)17:30 – 18:30UTC+9 hours
Santiago (Chile)05:30 – 06:30UTC-3 hours

We’re looking forward to meeting you online!

Further information on the Passenger and Freight Transport Volume

On 09 May 2017, during the UNFCCC´s 46th session of the Subsidiary Bodies in Bonn, the publication of the Passenger and Freight Transport Volume of the UNFCCC’s Compendium on GHG Baselines and Monitoring was officially launched. The Transport Volume is a multi-stakeholder effort to provide a resource map of methodologies and tools for establishing baselines and monitoring emissions reductions from mitigation actions. It covers more than 30 methodologies and tools, which are structured into eight different mitigation action types.

The transport volume was coordinated by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) in cooperation with the UNFCCC Secretariat and the Partnership on Sustainable Low Carbon Transport (SloCaT) and funded through the International Climate Initiative of the German Federal Ministry for Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety BMUB. It was written with the assistance of the Center for Clean Air Policy with contributions from the International Council on Clean Transportation (ICCT) and INFRAS.


mm