Webinar: MRV of Inter-Urban Rail Expansion

Monday, 09th of September 2019, 10:30–11.30 am (UTC+2)

We are pleased to invite you to participate in episode 7 of our joint webinar of the UNFCCC Secretariat and GIZ on MRV of Inter-Urban Rail Expansion. The series comprises eight webinars and is based on the chapters of the UNFCCC Secretariat’s Passenger and Freight Transport Volume of the Compendium on GHG Baselines and Monitoring (2nd updated edition).

Join us for episode 7of the series on 09 September, 2019, 10:30–11.30 am (UTC+2) German time on Inter-Urban Rail Infrastructure.

Urda Eichhorst (GIZ) will moderated the webinar and open the session, then Eduardo Cardoso Filho (UNFCCC Secretariat) will highlight existing CDM methodologies to calculate emissions reductions from long-distance rail. Subsequently, Jürg Grütter (Grütter Consulting) will present a real-world application of AM0101 for high-speed rail in Korea. After the presentations, there will be time for questions and answers.

Please register here.

The webinar will be recorded and made available to all registered participants after the webinar – also if you are not able to attend. Here, you can find the recordings of the previous six webinars of the series.

The webinar addresses primarily government agencies, consultants, academia, think tanks and international cooperation organisations interested in MRV of mode shift measures in the freight sector.

Webinar times – 09 September 2019

LocationLocal TimeUTC Offset
Berlin (Germany )10:30 – 11:30UTC+2 hours
Nairobi (Kenya)11:30 – 12:30UTC+3 hours
Bangkok (Thailand)15:30 – 16:30UTC+7 hours
Seoul (Korea)17:30 – 18:30UTC+9 hours
Santiago (Chile)05:30 – 06:30UTC-3 hours

We’re looking forward to meeting you online!

Further information on the Passenger and Freight Transport Volume

On 09 May 2017, during the UNFCCC´s 46th session of the Subsidiary Bodies in Bonn, the publication of the Passenger and Freight Transport Volume of the UNFCCC’s Compendium on GHG Baselines and Monitoring was officially launched. The Transport Volume is a multi-stakeholder effort to provide a resource map of methodologies and tools for establishing baselines and monitoring emissions reductions from mitigation actions. It covers more than 30 methodologies and tools, which are structured into eight different mitigation action types.

The transport volume was coordinated by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) in cooperation with the UNFCCC Secretariat and the Partnership on Sustainable Low Carbon Transport (SloCaT) and funded through the International Climate Initiative of the German Federal Ministry for Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety BMUB. It was written with the assistance of the Center for Clean Air Policy with contributions from the International Council on Clean Transportation (ICCT) and INFRAS.


mm